It All Goes Back In A Box


Below is a post from one of my good friends Daniel Bilog. He’s a wonderful writer and I loved capturing this very raw viewpoint from a GenY’ers perspective. We often get tied up as human beings in the possessions that we own that we often forget the meaning of life. I thought this post would be a refreshing view into the beer goggles we wear from time to time.

Let’s not put so much pressure on ourselves that we forget what really matters.

Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4dK64SpJ0qg

” This video is quite poignant for me at present. Not that anyone asked, however, I wish to share a story in regards to this link.

Part of my truth and to have harmony between my thoughts, words, and actions is to get out of my debt slavery. I had committed a decent amount of my income just paying for somewhere to live. In light of everything happening in the world and the mathematics of the global economic situation, I knew it was time to get out.

In doing this, sincere questions came from within about what I really want to do with this change. Surprisingly enough, most of the decisions on where to put my focus were all activities that involved the right brain.

Now what I am getting to is this – when friends, family, or some acquaintances asked me what I was going to do, I told them, something in Psychology or Philosophy. Nearly all of them shook their heads with disapproval or disbelief!

Some of the general comments were, “What about building wealth for when you’re old,? Aren’t you worried you will have nothing when you’re old? Aren’t you worried that you won’t have the security of building an investment portfolio? Aren’t you worried that you won’t own your own home in 30 years? Don’t you want other assorted valuables to work towards?”

Other comments had strong undertones that I was somehow losing something and lowering my status. The one constant theme in all the comments were:

THAT POSSESIONS UNDERPIN MY MEASURE, MY WORTH, MY HAPPINESS AND SECURITY.

I feel great empathy for these people. So many of us are so brainwashed by the illusion of just things, when I can fulfill all my basic needs and focus on things that hold immortal value.

WE ARE CULTURALLY ENCAPSULATED BY THIS IDEA.

Yet, this is what society praises, MONEY & POWER, when in the end, it all goes back in the box.”

What do you think?

Comments
2 Responses to “It All Goes Back In A Box”
  1. nate says:

    i think you can still achieve all of the above, even with a job in psychology or philosophy; fulfill your dreams and save and invest in a way where you can still own your house and car. but i agree, i think the most important thing is not become a slave to things and fall into peer pressure.

    society does place a great value on things, but if you focus on doing what you love, the rest will fall in place if you just have a little bit of discipline on your spending habits.

  2. harp says:

    I don’t think it is the society but rather the advertisements that try to make posession to be the meaning of life.
    It seems like society wants you to focus ur life around money because the people who have money, they have power and they use it to influence others in the ways that will help them make more money.

Leave a Reply

